About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap

[return to collegeinsider.com]

Nov. 24, 2014

BOSTON (MA) -- Iona's A.J. English earns the Lou Henson award national player of the week honors.

The 6-foot-4 junior had a big week for the Gaels, capped off with 37 points, 8 rebounds and 4 assits in a road win over North Texas. Two days earlier English had 27 points, 8 rebounds and 5 assists in a win at Wake Forest. He opened the week with 22 points against Wofford.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball.

The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Week 2 (Nov. 24) A.J. English (Iona)
Week 1 (Nov. 17) Kyle Wilson (Army)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2014 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.